August 1977

In the park of St. Lawrence Church, Main Street, Balcatta, a group of friends started to kick a soccer ball to end the boredom of the Sunday afternoons.  Little did they know that this was the beginning of Balcatta Etna Soccer Cub.

Within a short time the number of friends who wanted to play soccer grew dramatically as did the number of spectators.

This quickly brought about the idea of forming a soccer team, and within several days a committee was formed.  This was made up of 17 foundations members, several of whom were players of the old amateur team.  The founding members were Emilio Caruso(President), Filippo Aquilia (VP), Salvatore DiLatte (Secretary), Giuseppe Orifici (Treasurer), Antonio Todaro, Carmelo Scalisi, along with Vincenzo Algeri, Giuseppe Aquilia, Carmelo Aquilia, Vincenzo Algeri, Carmelo Bongiovanni, Santino Colantropo, Domenico Di Latte, Rosario Orifici, Emilio Orifici, Luigi Scalisi, Francesco Vitanza.

The majority of members were originally from a town called Ucria (province of Messina), Sicily.  This being the case, it was decided to call the newborn club by a Sicilian symbol “Etna” being the largest volcano in Europe.  After several months of preparation, the club was accepted as a member of the Soccer Federation of Western Australia and became officially known as Balcatta Etna Soccer Club.

GROUND: Grindleford Reserve, Balcatta WEBSITE:
COLOURS: Red, Blue and White
FORMED: 1977

SEASONS IN TOP FLIGHT: 7 (2010-2016)
Premier League Minor Premiers – 2011
First Division winners – 2009
Second Division winners – 1981
Second Division runners-up – 1994
Third Divison runners-up – 1980
Cup runners-up – 2012

PREVIOUSLY KNOWN AS: Balcatta Etna (1977-1987) and Balcatta Soccer Club (1988-2013)

SEASON         POSITION                       DIVISION                            COACH

1978                   6th                               Third Division                                          D. Rutigliani

1979                   9th                               Third Division                                          D. Rutigliani

1980                   2nd                              Third Division                                          D. Rutigliani

1981                   1st                                 Second Division                                       J.Griffiths

1982                   3rd                               First Division                                           H.Mankowski

1983                   6th                               First Division                                           P.Gangemi

1984                   8th                               First Division                                           Jim Coles

1985                   7th                                First Division                                           Jim Coles

1986                   5th                                First Division                                           Jim Coles

1987                   4th                                First Division                                           Jim Coles

1988        Not in Competition – Formed merger with East Fremantle Tricolore

1989        Not in Competition    and Perth Azzuri to form Perth Italia.

1990        Not in Competition

1991                   13th                               Second Division                                       Gary Hooper

1992                   9th                                Second Division                                       Sauro Iozzelli

1993                   7th                                 Second Division                                       Sauro Iozzelli

1994                   2nd                               Second Division                                       Steve Sumner

1995                   7th                                First Division                                           Steve Sumner

1996                   10th                              First Division                                           Steve Sumner

1997                   9th                                First Division                                           Fred Broadley

1998                   6th                                First Division                                           Bruno Serra

1999                   4th                                First Division                                           Bruno Serra

2000                  11th                               First Division                                           Richard McGinn

2001                   11th                               First Division                                           Richard McGinn

2002                   9th                                First Division                                           Rick Davis

2003                   12th                              First Division                                           Fred Broadley

2004                   8th                                First Division                                           Basil Lenzo

2005                   3rd                                First Division                                           Basil Lenzo

2006                   4th                                First Division                                           Basil Lenzo

2007                   10th                              First Division                                           Basil Lenzo

2008                   6th                                First Division                                           Salv Todaro

2009                   1st                                 First Division                                           Salv Todaro

2010                   3rd                                State Premier League                             Michael Roki

2012                   6th                                State Premier League                             Michael Roki

2013                   9th                                State Premier League                             Michael Roki / Saul Contera

2014                   3rd                                National Premier League WA              Ramon Falzon

2015                   6th                                National Premier League WA              Ramon Falzon

2016                  8th                                 National Premier League WA              Marc Anthony